San Diego New Minimum Wage & Sick Leave Ordinances Are Here – Act Now to Keep Compliant!

By May 9th, 2018HR Blog

Here’s what you need to know:whiteboard-graph

  • The San Diego City Council confirmed the minimum wage and sick leave ordinances Monday afternoon, and changes took effect immediately.
  • As of the City Council’s decision on July 12th, San Diego’s minimum wage rate is $10.50 per hour.
  • Although the state of California’s minimum sick leave requirement is 3 days, the city of San Diego’s minimum sick leave requirement has now jumped to 5 days.
  • Sick time may be offered as a lump sum or accrue at the rate of 1 hour for every 30 hours worked. If an employer chooses the accrual method, sick time may be capped at 80 hours.
  • Sick time may be used for the same reasons as California paid sick leave.
  • Unused sick time does not need to be paid out upon termination.
  • However, if an employee is terminated (either voluntarily or involuntarily) and rehired within 6 months, an employer must reinstate unused sick time.

The SDEA team is here to help you navigate all these changes! Give us a call at (858) 505-0024 or email, and we’ll be happy to answer your questions.

Contact us: 858.505.0024